PEACE, LOVE AND BOMBS 9


EXT. SUBURBAN BUSINESS AREA – NIGHT

Little Sal’s Eldorado pulls up and parks across the
street from Dominick’s gourmet deli and bistro. The
headlights go dark.

INT. CADILLAC – TWO SHOT

SAL
What time you got?

TONY
Quarter of. He locks up around ten,
then spends half an hour cleaning.

SAL
We’ll wait. Let him clean up.

TONY STARAPOLI, an imposing figure, muscle for big Sal,
laughs at the comment.

SAL
How’s your wife doing?

TONY
A lot better. Thanks.

SAL
What ‘d she have, a lump?

TONY
Yeah, a small tumor in the side of
her breast.

SAL
They do a biopsy?

TONY
Yeah.

SAL
Anything?

TONY
It was benign.

SAL
Thank God for that. No surgery
then?

TONY
No, she had surgery. She wanted it
out.

SAL
How ‘d that go?

TONY
Fine. She’s home, resting. Doctor
said everything went great.

SAL
I’m glad to hear that, Tony. You
need anything. Anything.

TONY
I know, Sal.

SAL
No. I mean it.

TONY
I appreciate it. Hey, look. He’s
locking up. Everybody’s going home.

SAL
Good. Give ‘im a couple of minutes.

The two sit quietly for several minutes, watching.

SAL
Alright. Let’s go

EXT. EMPTY STREET – DARK QUIET NIGHT LIT ONLY BY DIM
OVERHEAD STREET LAMPS

The two men cross, approach the bistro doors and knock.
Spotting them from inside, a look of terror crosses
Dominick’s face. He comes to the front, unlocks the
door and opens it slightly. Tony sticks his foot in.

DOMINICK
Hey, Sal. What’s up?

SAL
Open the door.

DOMINICK
(nervously)
I was just closing up.

SAL
It’ll have to wait. Open the door.

DOMINICK
Sure, Sal. I didn’t mean anything.

SAL
What was that?

DOMINICK
I didn’t say anything.

SAL
You getting smart with me?

DOMINICK
(stepping back)
No. I swear.

The two men bull their way inside.

INT. UPSCALE EATERY – NIGHT

SAL
Lock the door.

DOMINICK
Sure, Sal. Sure.

DOMINICK D’AMATO, a soft, partially bald, heavy-set man,
does as he’s told.

SAL
You got a place we can sit?

DOMINICK
(pointing to a
table)
Over here.

The three men sit down close together, Dominick in the
middle. Sal rests his arm on Dominick’s shoulder.

SAL
Tell me, Dom. What would you do if
a friend came to you in trouble,
pleading with you, and as a good
faith gesture, you agreed to help
that friend out of a jam, loaning
him a large sum of money, but then,
when it came time for that friend
to repay you for your generosity,
he says fuck you, I’m not gonna
pay. What would you do?

DOMINICK
I’d…

SAL
I’ll tell you what you’d do. You’d
bust his fuckin’ head wide open.
Wouldn’t you?

DOMINICK
I don’t know, Sal. I…

SAL
Shut up

DOMINICK
Sal, I…

SAL
Shut the fuck up! I don’t wanna
hear another fuckin’ word outta
your mouth.

Sal massages the back of Dominick’s neck and pulls him
close.

SAL
Look. There’s a way you can make
this right.

DOMINICK
(whimpering)
Anything. I’ll do anything.

SAL
(looking at Tony)
Tony, you hungry?

TONY
I could eat.

SAL
Dominick, why don’t you make us a
couple of nice sandwiches. Tony,
what do you want?

TONY
I don’t know. A nice combo.

SAL
Sounds good. Dominick, make us a
couple of nice combos.

DOMINICK
Sal, I just cleaned the slicer. I
was gettin’ ready to go home.

SAL
You getting smart with me again?

DOMINICK
No. I swear.

SAL
That fuckin’ mouth of yours. Fuck
your slicer. And fuck you. Make the
fuckin’ sandwiches.

Sal grabs the back of Dominick’s shirt and yanks him to
his feet.

SAL
Tony, what do you want on your
sandwich?

TONY
Everything.

SAL
You got that, fuck face? Two
combos, loaded.

Sal pushes him toward the slicer. Fumbling
uncontrollably, Dominick sets out the bread and
condiments, opens the meat case and takes out a ham. He
peels back the casing and turns the slicer on. Sal
watches closely.

SAL
What would you say this deli makes
in a week? Eight? Nine? Ten grand?

Dominick says nothing, and continues working on the
sandwiches. When he finishes, he turns the slicer off.

SAL
Tony, what do you want? Oil and
vinegar?

TONY
Sounds good.

Dominick spreads the condiments, cuts the sandwiches
and wraps them. Sal nods to Tony, and Tony steps behind
Dominick. Sal turns the slicer back on.

SAL
You never answered my question. On
an average week, what do you gross?

DOMINICK
(hesitant)
I don’t know. Eleven. Twelve grand.

SAL
Eleven or twelve grand. Wow! You
hear that, Tony?

TONY
I hear it, boss.

SAL
Then why is it you can’t meet your
obligations?

DOMINICK
I got expenses, Sal. I got kids in
college. A mortgage. Car payments.

SAL
And let’s not forget those other
little necessities. The horses. Oh,
those fuckin’ horses. And Monday
night football. The card games.
That high priced skank you like to
sit on your face. Let’s not forget
her. All that overhead. I think you
need a partner.

DOMINICK
Sal, I barely got my head above
water as it is. I can’t take a
partner.

SAL
Tony.

Tony grabs Dominick in a full nelson, and Sal sets the
cold cut slicer on high. Tony bends Dominick forward,
forcing his face toward the spinning blade.

DOMINICK
(screeching)
Please God no!

SAL
You mother fucker. You see what we
got here? A fuckin’ situation. You
hear what I’m telling you?

DOMINICK
(crying
hysterically)
Yes! Yes! Please God!

Tony pushes his face closer. Sal looks at Tony. They
both laugh.

SAL
You see what I’m saying?

DOMINICK
Yes!

SAL
You sure about that?

DOMINICK
Yes! I’m sure!

SAL
Alright. Let ‘im up.

Tony lets him go. He drops to the floor, hands covering
his face, crying pathetically.

SAL
Get your sandwich, Tony.
(to Dominick)
Do the right thing. The next time
won’t be so easy. Now open the
fuckin’ door.
(to Tony)
Come on. Let’s go.

TONY
This is some sandwich, boss.

SAL
Yeah, not bad.

About ldlagarino

I'm a somewhat retired tractor-trailer driver who loves the movies and always loved to write. I have time now. No excuses. I suppose it's only natural for me to lean toward screenwriting.
This entry was posted in 1970-1971, Love, New York, Peace, The Mob and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to PEACE, LOVE AND BOMBS 9

  1. joann050@aol.com says:

    Cool, Larry this one is quite long…still reading!

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE Smartphone

    Like

Leave a Reply

