PEACE, LOVE AND BOMBS 5


INT. ELEPHANT TREE BAR/RESTAURANT – NIGHT

Players and patrons cram the barroom floor. More stream
through an opened front door, squeezing into spaces
barely wide enough to breathe in. Waitresses hoist
pitchers overhead, maneuvering this way and that to
tables packed with celebrating fans. Michael Jackson’s,
“I Want You Back” cranks on the jukebox.

Franco’s at the bar, wedged between one unabashedly
buxom blonde and a bouffant brunette, both very drunk
and coming onto him. At the pool table, Peaches mows
down shooter after shooter, stuffing twenties in his
pockets until there’s no more room. The whole team’s
drinking, telling tales and laughing. The atmosphere’s
electric.

Kenny, Nicky and Patrick occupy a table with their
wives. Lean, slick fielding first baseman, SETH
MARKOWITZ, a chiseled, good-looking distance runner
with hair down to his shoulders, stands alongside with
his girlfriend, Sarah. They talk about the shot.

NICKY
I’ve never seen anything even close.

KENNY
Me neither.

PATRICK
So how far do you think?

NICKY
I don’t know. Five hundred feet?

KENNY
Close to it.

PATRICK
You know what the record is?

NICKY
What is it?

PATRICK
I don’t know. I’m asking you.

NICKY
Oh, I thought you knew.

PATRICK
No. I don’t.

NICKY
What the fuck!

SETH
(chiming in)
I think it’s something like five
hundred twenty feet. Some guy
playing in a tournament down in
Alabama. Big Guy! Like six foot six,
two hundred and sixty-five pounds.

PATRICK
Yeah, a lot bigger than Franco.

KENNY
(gesturing with
his head toward
the bar)
I don’t know where he gets his power.

NICKY
Fuckin’ meatballs.

SETH
I wouldn’t doubt it. Hey, we’re
goin’ outside. We’re gonna get some
air.

FRANCO
(looking bored)
So you girls live close by?

BUXOM BLONDE
I do. She’s across town.

FRANCO
No kidding.

BUXOM BLONDE
I’m in walking distance.

FRANCO
Is that so?

BUXOM BLONDE
Good to have friends, in case you
can’t make it home.

Seth appears on Franco’s shoulder.

SETH
Some guy outside wants to talk to
you.

FRANCO
What guy? Who?

SETH
I don’t know. Some guy in a Lincoln.
I never saw him before.

FRANCO
(freeing himself)
Excuse me a second.

BUXOM BLONDE
Where you going, sweetie? Shit!

About ldlagarino

I'm a somewhat retired tractor-trailer driver who loves the movies and always loved to write. I have time now. No excuses. I suppose it's only natural for me to lean toward screenwriting.
This entry was posted in 1970-1971, Love, New York, Peace, The Mob and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

